Long Time, No See

14 Apr

After a much too long hiatus, I will be returning to blogging again! So much has happened since Miss America, and I am sorry for not being a more faithful blogger. But alas, time to catch everyone up!

Miss America was the experience of a lifetime. I am so proud to call Miss Iowa Pauli Mayfield my pageant sister. She was beautiful, gracious, eloquent, and the winner of the Non-Finalist Interview award! Guess we Iowa girls know how to give a pretty good interview 😉

School has been absolutely insanely busy–and I still haven’t decided where I want to go to school next fall! But I am getting closer! A few months ago, Pauli and I helped host the opening celebration of the Hotel Blackhawk. Talk about a beautiful hotel! Pauli and I had lots of fun talking to the guests and getting free food from Pauli’s friend Louis, who is a manager at the hotel.

Two weeks ago, my mom and I helped with the Miss Greater Des Moines pageant. One of my goals as MIOTeen was to bring a local pageant back to our state’s capitol. Being on this side of pageantry has been even more fulfilling than competing myself. I love observing girls as they truly go after their dreams and accomplish their goals. Congrats to two of my best friends, Miss Greater Des Moines Kourtney Richards and Miss Greater Des Moines’ Outstanding Teen Bailey Johnson. I am so excited for every single local titleholder who will be competing at Miss Iowa and Miss Iowa’s Outstanding Teen–only a few more weeks till Miss Iowa Week!! I can’t wait!

This past weekend, I emceed and sang for the Addam C. Medina Foundation Benefit. I thoroughly enjoyed hearing many of the talented musicians. I was motivated to pick up my guitar again 🙂

I then traveled to Davenport (of course) for the Miss Iowa Bridal Extravaganza. It was a really classy event and very well attended. Several other local titleholders were there, helping host the event. Pauli, her mom Julie, my mom, and I all ended up talking about the Miss Iowa apartment, the Davenport police, and Miss Iowa week for hours till we eventually decided we needed to fee Pauli. It was a great day.

Then, this Monday, I visited the University of Iowa’s Honor Program and had a sample voice lesson with Stephen Swanson, the voice professor whose studio I have been placed in at Iowa. It was definitely a huge step in helping me narrow down my choices. I hope I can tell you all where I will be next fall by next week!

It feels good to blog again. And with Miss Iowa Week coming in 2 months, stay posted. Also check out my twitter http://twitter.com/#!/AlyOlson to get your fill 🙂

Loves!

Aly

Leave a comment